Hello There, Guest! Register
facebook
Instagram
Mossback

What line to use for wacky rig

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Good day Ladies and Gents.

I was wondering what type of line would be best for a wacky rig ? Braid or fluorocarbon ? I have been doing some research on it but cannot find a straight up answer ! I have never used fluorocarbon before, but have read that its sort of invisible which is an advantage ?

Any info will be greatly appreciated.

Regards

Toast.
Hey man,

I'm just sharing what I know about wacky rigging. I'm no expert.

First off, usually you'd always have it connected to fluoro, whether you're using a spinning or baitcasting setup. I occasionally use wacky rigs and use it mostly on casting gear. Lightest I go is 12lb Seaguar InvisX. Others may prefer 10 and 8, even 6 pound. Your casting setup would be fluoro all the way until the backing.

You typical spinning setup usually consists of a braided mainline, with a fluoro leader a bit less than the length of your rod. Others prefer to have it 2 lengths of the rod, but it's personal pref. I have my spinning reel spooled with 12lb Sunline SX1 and I can adjust the size of the leader. Places like Clan with clear water, guys switch to their 8 and 6lb line for a more finesse presentation.

So what I do now and would do, is use the spinning rod for ultra clear water when longer casts are crucial, and casting gear when using wacky rigs in heavier cover. You can experiment and use a few different baits like flukes and creature baits and check how they fall in your pool. I like to use a Big Bite Baits Cane Stick for wacky rigging. Also take the size of the line into consideration with the fall rate. The thinner the line, the faster it falls.
Just a little info I know about the technique.

I hope that answers some of your questions?
[Image: outdoors_zps5be0abce.gif]
Morning Toast. Mono or flouro leaders can be tricky with the wrong knots. herewith one of the best: